Friday, February 27, 2009

The five groups of clinging

"Monks, there are these five groups of clinging*.
1. The body-group
2. The feeling-group
3. The perception-group
4. The mental-formation-group
5. The consciousness-group

"And when, monks, the Ariyan disciple understands as they really are the arising and the passing away, the attractiveness and the danger, and the deliverance from the five groups of clinging, he is called an Ariyan disciple who is a Stream-winner, not liable to states of woe, assured of final enlightenment."
* Clinging to The Five Aggregates (see labels)

It is the same as the self identity view -the first fetter (see labels)

No comments: