Wednesday, February 11, 2009

The four kinds of food...

There are these four kinds of nutriment (food) for the maintenance of beings that already have come to be and for the support of those seeking a new existence.

The four kinds of food:

1. Physical food : gross or subtle
2. Contact food
3. Mental volition food
4. Consciousness food

With the arising of craving there is the arising of nutriment. With the cessation of craving there is the cessation of nutriment. The way leading to the cessation of nutriment is just this Noble Eightfold Path; that is, right view, right intention, right speech, right action, right livelihood, right effort, right mindfulness and right concentration.

Sammaditthi Sutta -The Discourse on Right View
To learn more on nutriment:

No comments: